So is there a consensus on using 55gr soft points in a defensive rifle?

theothermikeg

Established Member
Jan 19, 2022
Birmingham
I purchased 1000 Speer 55gr Varmint for general practice and plinking, then got to wondering if it would work as a defensive round. I'm getting about 2750 fps out of a 12.5" IWI Zion pistol. Perhaps it won't hold together and fragment too much. What say the experts?

Dfalt

Established Member
Mar 13, 2021
Troy, AL
I've got some Speer Gold Dots in 75gr that are supposed to be optimized for duty use in short barrels. They make it in 55gr as well but personally I think the heavier bullet weights perform better for short barrels where you don't have as much velocity to really make the lighter bullets like 55gr do their thing. All in all this is min/maxing though and those 55gr will do what you're looking for just fine.

Lance

Established Member
Jun 6, 2021
Monroe County
Depends how your barrel is rifled.

I was a firearms instructor for many years. My department's first batch of AR's, issued one per squad, to the sergeants, were rifled 1:9. I did a lot of testing, and in those,, the 55s shot best. Later, we equipped all officers with patrol rifles, but they were rifled 1:7. Same testing showed 64 gr. bullets were better in those. Since we had many more of those, and sergeants were less likely to deploy them, and since they were almost as accurate in the slow-twist guns, we standardized on the Winchester 64 gr. soft points. Just before I retired, Winchester became unavailable. After more testing, we went to Federal 64 gr. softpoints. Fortunately, we never had to use any of them on duty while I was there, but I can tell you, either of the 64 grain bullets will penetrate both shoulders of a south Alabama deer and keep on going. And both are accurate enough for head shots out to at least 100 yards when fired from my Yankee Hill 20" HBAR, 1:7 twist.

theothermikeg

Established Member
Jan 19, 2022
Birmingham