New Alabama Resident - Question About Carry Laws

Florabama896

Established Member
Jun 30, 2024
AL
Coming from Florida, I have a Florida concealed weapons permit and have a couple questions now that I am an Alabama resident.

1. I know that Alabama is a permitless carry state, but I can't find much info on carrying in my vehicle. Does my pistol have to be concealed or can it be in the open, I.E. in holster/mount outside of console?
  2. In Florida, even with permitless carry, it was still required to carry identification with you when carrying. Do I need to have my drivers license on me while carrying in Alabama?
  3. Are there any benefits to getting an Alabama concealed weapons permit? In Florida, it was still advantageous to skip the waiting period for pistol purchase, but I don't believe that Alabama has a waiting period, correct?
Thanks!

GonzoGaddy

Premium Member
Jul 2, 2024
Moody, A
I found this online, which confirmed my recollection that the permitless carry law includes vehicles. I know it’s from a pro-gun control group. But it seems to be accurate. https://giffords.org/lawcenter/state-laws/guns-in-vehicles-in-alabama/

Regardless of what the letter of the law is, I would definitely have my ID on me while carrying a firearm. I remember a police officer telling me that Alabama law requires you to carry an ID while out in public. I really don’t think that’s the case, but that goes to show you that even law enforcement can be fuzzy on the law sometimes.

I’m not aware of anything a pistol permit does to expedite gun sales. The last two times I’ve purchased a gun at an Alabama business (both since January 2023), no one asked me about a pistol permit. And you are correct. No waiting period here.

Glad to have you in Alabama, though!

Florabama896

Established Member
Jun 30, 2024
AL